Brentwood, 2.56pm: 20°C, clear sky

Brentwood Town FC

Brentwood Town Football Club is an English football club based in Brentwood, Essex, who currently compete in the Isthmian League North Division. The club play their home games at the Brentwood Centre Arena, which has a capacity of 1,000 supporters, 50 of which can be seated. Jez Dickinson is the current Brentwood Town Chairman, while Adam Flanagan is the club’s first team manager.

In the early stages of the club’s history, Brentwood reached the quarter-finals of the FA Cup in the 1885-86 season before being beaten by eventual winners Blackburn Rovers 3-1. Brentwood & Warley later became the town’s main representative of a football club, who would later become founder members of the Delphian League in 1951, going on to win the league in their first season competing in it. However, they later adopted their current identity as Brentwood Town in 1965 and have remained that way ever since. Perhaps the club’s most famous achievement since then was reaching the third round of the FA Cup in the 1969/70 season, where they defeated Football League side Reading in the first round of the competition before then beating Hendon in the second round. Their run in the competition came to an end when over 4,000 spectators saw them lose 1-0 to Northampton in the third round.

In more recent times, Brentwood Town have twice won the Essex Senior League title since the turn of the century and have established themselves as regulars within the Isthmian League setup. In the 2018/19 season, the club finished 13th out of 20 in the Isthmian League North Division. There have been some notable names in charge of Brentwood over recent years as well, including former Charlton Athletic forward Mike Flanagan and ex-Brentford, Wimbledon and Bolton Wanderers striker Dean Holdsworth, who scored 63 goals in the Premier League for the latter two clubs.

Brentwood Town Honours

Essex Senior League

  • Champions 2000–01, 2006–07

  • League Cup winners 1975–76, 1978–79, 1990–91, 2006–07

Gordon Brasted Memorial Trophy

  • Winners 2006–07

Harry Fisher Memorial Trophy

  • Winners 1995–96

Essex Olympian League

  • League Cup Winners 1967–68


  • Best FA Cup performance: Third round, 1969–70[12]

  • Best FA Trophy performance: First round, 1969–70[12]

  • Best FA Vase performance: First round, 2004–05, 2006–07[12]

For the latest football news head over to Squawka

Phoenix FM's partners

Beeches Care Home | Billericay Town Council | Billericay Town FC | Blue Serif | Brandler Galleries | Brentwood Care Centre | Brentwood Chamber of Commerce | C2C | Creative Recording Studios | Crystal Communication Solutions | Elan Fire and Security Group | F Barnes solicitors | Foxtel Audio Visual Solutions | Healthwatch Essex | Hawkhurst Alternative Investments | Holiday Inn | Hopefield Animal Sanctuary | Latitude Festival | LMS Heating Solutions | Network Magazine | NHS | O'Wango and TT Smart | Pure Orthodontics | Rainer Hughes | Renewables In Africa | Saint Francis Hospice | SEHBAC | Standon Calling Festival | Studio 6 Music | Will Protect

© Phoenix FM 1996-2020. Written using Notepad and PHP.